Many people are charged with reckless driving every day across Virginia. It’s a very common charge. At Calinger Law, we are here to help.
Virginia has numerous statutes under which a person can face a reckless driving charge. These include:
Virginia Code 46.2-852: This is the general reckless driving statute. This states that any person who drives recklessly, endangering life or property, is guilty of reckless driving.
Virginia Code 46.2-853: This section states it is reckless driving to drive a vehicle without proper control or a vehicle that lacks proper brakes.
Virginia Code 46.2-854: This section provides a reckless driving offense where a person passes another car while approaching a crest in the road. Notice this does not apply where there are multiple lanes of travel.
Virginia Code 46.2-855: This Code section states it is reckless driving to drive where property, or persons in the front seat, interfere with the driver’s view out of the car or with the driver’s control over the vehicle controls.
Virginia Code 46.2-856: This Code section provides it is reckless driving to pass two vehicles that are next to each other, unless you are on a road with at least three lanes.
Virginia Code 46.2-857: This section states it is reckless driving to drive abreast of another vehicle where one of the vehicles is in a lane designated for only vehicle.
Virginia Code 46.2-858: This Code section provides it is reckless driving to pass another vehicle at a railroad grade crossing unless both directions of travel have multiple lanes.
Virginia Code 46.2-859: This portion states it is reckless driving to pass a stopped school bus that is taking on or unloading people. However, notice a person need not stop where the school bus is on the other side of a divided highway.
Virginia Code 46.2-860: This section states it may constitute reckless driving to fail to proper notice of an intention to turn, slow, or stop.
Virginia Code 46.2-861: This section states it is reckless driving to drive too fast for the conditions, regardless of the posted speed.
Virginia Code 46.2-862: This section states it is reckless driving to drive either 20 miles or more over the speed limit or over 80 miles per hour.
Virginia Code 46.2-863: This Code section provides a penalty for persons failing to yield the right of way.
Virginia Code 46.2-864: Here it is reckless driving to operate a vehicle recklessly on a parking lot.
Virginia Code 46.2-865: In this case, the Code criminalizes a race between vehicles on the roads. Note that this section requires at least a six month license suspension.